Juice Fast: Day 3 – The Furry Tongue

What’s done is done, and what’s done is the third day of my juice fast.  If you’re up on your fast/feast lingo, you’ll know that the third day is D day.  It’s the day that marks the true beginning of fasting.  Up until now, if sources are correct, I’ve been living off of my liver, and “crumbs” in my gut.  Not such a pleasant thought, truth be told.  But it’s done.

One big change I’ve noticed is my tongue.  It’s white and furry and has sores on the sides of it.

Here is a picture of my tongue before brushing and mouthwash. Notice the white lines down the sides. These are rows of dead cells. Also, notice the “fur” down the center.

Doing a quick read-up shows a TON of sources on the subject.  Apparently, during this phase of the juice fast, the tongue starts excreting excess proteins that bacteria just LOVE to host in.  Fortunately, this is one of those signs that it’s working.  Unfortunately, it causes bad breath and canker sores.  They also say that they’ll go away after a while, and that brushing and mouthwash will help.  I gave my tongue a good working over tonight…as the pictures show.  All in the name of truth, I say. I found it funny that nobody was willing to post pictures of their “furry tongue”, yet LOADS of comments and blogs are out there about them.

The next phase is where my body has to dip into storage to keep afloat.  It’ll be draining fat cells, and pulling from resources all over the place.  I’m sure it’ll probably tear down some muscle from here or there, but it’s a fair price, and

I doubt it will be significant.  I’m just glad I’ll have a clean, strong foundation to build on once I’m done.

Here is a picture of my tongue after brushing vigorously, and washing with Listerine. Notice the “fur” down the center is greatly diminished. The dead cells on the sides will sluff off in a few days.

People have reported that the third day is the hardest.  Frankly, that wasn’t my gig.  I woke up and felt just fine.  Hungry like a wolf, to quote Duran Squared.  I actually commented to my wife that I was feeling hunger…and that it had been a while since I’d felt it.

I started the day with some plain old Green Base, but added a grapefruit for ‘twang’. Kind of drank that all day long.  I’m going to have to find something interesting to juice soon.

Later today I played around with a watermelon, until I came up with Watermelon Crisp, which was quite tasty.  I still have some I’m saving for breakfast tomorrow.

So, tomorrow is day four, and is the first day I’m back to my routine.  I decided to take a university course this summer to gain a second teaching credential.  That means I’ll be sitting in class from 8:30 until 2-ish, then working in the library on my portfolio until the afternoon.  We’ll see how my energy holds up.  I took my bike to the shop to get tuned up, so I won’t by cycling to school like I have in the past…save that for day 5.

Good news, though.  I weighed today.  So far I have lost just over 3 pounds.  A pound a day?  Yup…I’ll take that!

Here is a quote from a great blog I found telling the stages of the Juice Fast:

Stage 2 (Day 3 To Day 7)
Fats, composed of transformed fatty acids, are broken down to release glycerol from the gliceride molecules and are converted to glucose. The skin may become oily as rancid oils are purged from the body. People with problem-free skin may have a few days of pimples or even a boil. A pallid complexion is also a sign of waste in the blood. Ketones are formed by the incomplete oxidation of fats. It is suspected that the ketones in the blood suppress the appetite by affecting the food-satiety center in the hypothalamus. You may feel hungry for the first few days of the fast. This effect is temporary. The desire to eat will disappear. Lack of hunger may last 40 to 60 days, depending on whether you are on water or juice.

The body embraces the fast and the digestive system is able to take a much-needed rest, focusing all of its energies on cleansing and healing. White blood cell and immune system activity increases. You may feel pain in your lungs. The cleansing organs and the lungs are in the process of being repaired. Periodically, the lymphatic system expels mucoid matter through the nose or throat. The volume excreted of this yellow-colored mucus can be shocking. The sinuses go through periods of being clogged, then will totally clear. The breath is still foul and the tongue coated. Within the intestine, the colon is being repaired and impacted feces on the intestinal wall start to loosen. (http://www.juicefasting.org/detox.htm)

So far, it’s right on track reading over their STAGE 1 reference.  Looks like I have oily skin, boils, and bad breath to look forward to, and of course the shocking about of mucus ready to expel itself.

So?  What do you think?  Have you experienced these?

+++UPDATE:  Boy, what I wouldn’t have given back then to know about the essential oils I use now!  Peppermint would have really helped with that bad breath.  Also, Detoxzyme blend would have helped me so much!  Can’t wait till I do the juice fast again to do it right with these Young Living products.  If you’re interested, they can be purchased here on my Young Living sales site, as I am an independent distributer+++++

12 thoughts on “Juice Fast: Day 3 – The Furry Tongue

  1. Pingback: Juice Fast: Day 4 – Back to the grind | Fatty Gone Rogue

    • I’m glad you enjoy it! And, you’re right. Nobody seems to want to talk about the “gross” of cleansing, juicing, running and healing our bodies. What good is the internet without truth, I feel.

  2. Pingback: Juice Cleanse: Day Three | Left Coast Cowboys

  3. Really helpful thanks and saved me time and endless useless info! It’s also good to know what to expect next. I’m on day 3 and my tongue is wearing a white fur coat! Not pleasant at all but at least I know it’s part of the journey.

  4. I bought a Nutruibullet 8 days ago. I am on blood pressure (hctz & amlodopine) & cholesterol meds (crestor). Every day I’ve been enjoying th Toxin Cleansing Blast. Since then my blood pressure has been shooting up higher each day, spiking at night, my chest is pounding. I feel jittery and restless but exhausted. Don’t know if its the nutriblast or detox process or something else. Today I woke up with a white tongue. Thoughts?

  5. Thanks for this information regarding the tongue and what to expect next, lol! I’ve been using mouthwash and peroxide during my hygiene routine. This is day 5 for me and I have had to take no acid refulx or blood pressure meds…wonderful!

  6. Im not doing juice fasting, i just eat mainly fruits and vegtables, or a plant based diet. I do intermittent fasting (16-36) hr fast everyday, but im showing alot of these signs like loss of appetite, the tounge is EXACTLY like mine, ect. So does this apply to me too? Im a bit confused :/

  7. Pingback: Detox Day 2 – Review – Stuart Breckenridge

  8. I was on blood pressure tablets and cholestrol tablets for 25 to 30 years I was very sick for over two years screaming in agony after every meal. My body was retaining water and my legs were killing me the pain was unbearable. The doctor made my life hell he did not know what the hell he was talking about. I finally thought if I die I don’t give a shit and got off all medications with in two months I started feeling better and there was an occassion where I would be on the floor screaming in agony however it was not after every meal like it had been for over two years. I ended up losing my job best thing that ever happened to me. I did a lot of research on youtube/internet and soon realised I had a leaky gut / Candida and I worked out what was wrong through various videos on line and went on a soup (Chicken) and a few carrots and celery and the fat from the chicken was eaten. The first week was pure hell, I felt nauseous, dizzy, weak and got diarrhea pretty bad, I kept up the fluids but no matter how much I drank I was dehydrated. I got a friend to go to the shop and get me some coco nuts and drank the water from it and after awhile I started to rehydrate and I kept on drinking soup which I had made from beef bones and all so kept drinking filtered water. I got that coating of the tongue as well. That was a year or so ago now I am fasting only on water distilled water and my tongue is coated once again. I am on this because I need to get rid of these poisons that are and have been in my system for god knows how long. I gave up everything, you name it and I don’t eat it any more. One of the main culprits was sugar, the others were flour, coffee, milk, pasta, cakes, icecream, lollies and the list goes on and on so now I have been eating small amounts of fresh fruit two pieces a day and green vegetables like broccoli, cabbage, kale, silverbeet, beetroot and leaves, spinach, zucchini I eat when I am hungry probably twice a day now as I am not hungry all day long like I used to be. The point I got off the medicines which were killing me and my doctor was yelling at me saying not to come see him if I am not going to continue my medication but to go to the hospital because he did not want to take responsibility for my getting off the BP/cholestrol/proton pump inhibitor that he bloody put me on which I took on rare occasions because I felt that my trouble had something to do with low stomach acid and the proton pump inhibitor was only lowering my acid even more….what a moron doctor. And hence the low stomach acid and I had an ulcer and the small intestines were full of bad gut flora….I took probiotics every day and still am taking them as I feel I still have some way to go with getting my health back to normal. Getting rid of my stupid doctor and watching you doctor like John Bergman chiropractor who is awesome when it comes to the digestive tract and Blood Pressure and Cholestrol taught me I didn’t need those meds and what they were doing to my body. There were a few more wise doctors on youtube saying the same things as John Bergman was saying. I knew they couldn’t all be wrong.

Leave a Reply

