The Bloody Maria!

Wow.  I just got home from my morning so excited to hit the juicer!  A guy from class brought fresh tomatoes and peppers from his garden for the snack table.  I was so happy to help myself to three beautiful tomatoes, an Anaheim pepper and a Jalapeño pepper.  As soon as I got home, I knew just what I was going to make.  Here’s what I came up with.

The Bloody Maria!

3 medium tomatoes

about 1/8 of a sweet onion

1 Jalapeño pepper (seeds removed.  Keep them if you want a BOOM)

1 Anaheim Pepper

a handful of kale

1 medium zucchini

1 baseball sized lemon cucumber (could substitute for another kind of cucumber)

1/2 teaspoon of Braggs (I was out of Worchestershire sauce)

three grinds of salt.  I used Pink Himalayan kind from Trader Joe’s.

I blasted all the veggies through the juicer.  To the juice, I swilled in the salt and braggs.  Woah.  It was so very delicious I didn’t even take a picture of it!  It was everything I needed in the middle of the day.  It was all vegetable (unless you fight the tomato, peppers, zucchini and cucumber as biologically being fruits).  It also had a nice salty side.  It’s been near 100F daily here, and I sweat up a storm on the bike to and from the University.  Lastly, it was delicious and it wasn’t grassy or beety or carrotey.

Moral  of the story, let’s not forget to mix things up!  The only question I’m left with is where I can get my hands on some more tomatoes to make this again!

 

Leave a Reply

