Juice Fast Day 5: Getting What it Takes!

Day 5 was definitely not the best one yet.  After waking up late, and making my juice for breakfast, and lunch which seemed to take forever, I hopped on my bike, hoping to be only 20 minutes late to class.  Hoping.

About 10 minutes in I recognized that my rear wheel was rubbing against the frame a bit.  GAH!  That’s what I get for being proactive, and taking it into the shop for a tune-up.  Truth be told, Chico Sports LTD is an amazing shop, and I highly recommend it.  Did I mention that this bike, a Specialized Hard Rock Sport has served me very well, and very hard since 1992?  I say a bike for 20 years deserves to let you down once in a while.  Well, the rubbing turned into a wobble which turned into me parking my bike at the hospital…so much for the 20 minutes late.  No, I didn’t ENTER the hospital, it was just conveniently on the way.

I locked up, and hoofed it the rest of the way.  40 minutes late, and wondering how I’m going to finish all I need to on foot.  (Wifey came to the rescue, and the bike is fixed).  At least it helped me stop and smell the … well…rosemary.  I can’t help myself when I walk past a rosemary hedge.

The day went on pretty much the same.  Class was fine.  I made a Bloody Maria! for afternoon snack which I really enjoyed.  I think, however, that it gave me gas.  I know I got a rumbly-tummy about a half hour after drinking it, and had gas the rest of the night.  Hmm…too much sugar from the tomatoes?  Don’t know.

I thought I would take a minute to describe what I use as tools for this juice fast.

Juicer:

First and foremost, you’ve got to have a way to get the juice out of the pulp.  I first tried my Blendtec blender, which makes a good juice that’s full of all the pulp.  Then, I took a paint strainer bag from OSH ($1.75 for two) and strained out the pulp.  It was delicious, and nutricious.  I wasn’t so happy doing the straining, though.  Speed?  I’m not convinced which was faster, or easier to clean. It’s kind of a toss-up.

Now, I borrowed my sister’s Jack LaLanne Power Juicer Pro.  It is a centrifugal juicer, and does a good job.  Things often jam in it, and I have to press down to clear it.  Also, it doesn’t juice parsley worth anything (I now have to wrap it up inside other leafy greens to get it out).

Vessels

I like to collect my juice in either a pitcher if I’m doing a full day, or a mason jar if I’m doing a double.  I also really enjoy drinking my juices from a reusable plastic cup/lid/straw thing I bought at the Dollar Store.  And, for packing lunch, I wouldn’t live without my Kleen Kanteen Insulated.  I super-highly recommend one of these even off a juice fast.  Also, colanders and an empty ice tray for carrying vegetables from the outside refrigerator to the juicing station.

Prep

I like to have a nice sharp chef’s knife, my trusty bamboo cutting board, a compost bucket/bag, and a place to do it.  I shouldn’t skim over that last one.  Juicing takes time and planning.  You can’t just browse the cupboard and pick something up to eat.  To help with this, I have contracted with the family to leave a space on the counters clean and ready.  Counter space is a limited supply in my house.  There’s nothing worse than having to walk into the kitchen to juice, and find you first need to clean up a lovely dinner of fajitas, beans, rice, cheese, and all the stuff involved.  It’s just not kind.

Technology

Some people might not add this to the mix.  I, however, consider it a super-needed tool.  With a laptop, iPad, and iPhone, I have everything I need right at my fingertips.  I take pictures on my phone and send it to the laptop for writing this blog.  I use my iPad for scouring the internet to answer questions I have, find recipies, and gain a sense of accountability writing these blog posts, and reading Facebook comments from my friends.

Support

I can’t write this without adding the most impotant tool in my kit:  My wife.  Without her allowing me the freedom to embark on this, I never would succeed.  She rallys the kids to accept when I don’t sit at the dinner table with them.  They ask me how it’s going, and try not to turn up their noses at my concoctions.  They’ve learned to say “It’s not my favorite” instead of YICK!

Produce

Of course we can’t forget the produce!  I’m lucky to have a second refrigerator on our back porch.  In there I have loads of fresh veggies to choose that have come straight from our garden.  Also, It’s a place to load up 1/2 a week’s worth or more of produce from the store.  Here are some of my staples

  • Romain Lettuce
  • Green Apples
  • Cucumbers
  • Zucchini and Yellow Squash
  • Ginger Root
  • Beet Root and Tops
  • Kale
  • Green Cabbage
  • Lemon Cucumbers and Green
  • Grapefruit
  • Carrots (I bought a 25 lb bag marked “juicing” at a store for about $7.00!)
  • Limes
  • Spinach
  • Celery (adds a nice salty taste)

You can see that not only does it take a village, but also a pantry full of stuff!  But it’s been quite worth it.  As I sit writing this, it’s the beginning of Day 6, and I feel confident I’ve made a good choice.  In fact, I’m kind of sad I have to break the fast when I do.  My school has scheduled to send all us teachers to Santa Cruz for 6 days for a training on our curriculum for the year.  I wouldn’t be able to successfully do my juice fast there.  But…I’m signing up for the vegan option!

Leave a Reply

