You Win Some, You Lose Some: Two juice recipes

This morning I woke up with two new juice recipes to try.  The first was Mango-Carrot juice by Martha Stewart.  The second, a “cure-all” by Dr. Horowitz.

Mango-Carrot

8 carrots

1 mango (peeled and pitted)

1 navel orange (peeled)

1 strip of orange zest.

Toss all of them through the juice extractor, and voila!  This was a very delicious, very orange-colored way to wake up my taste buds.  It made about 3/4 QT, which I swilled directly from the collection jar.  It was absolutely delicious!  I wonder, however, where the mango went?  I’m going to have to experiment with juicing mangos, because I really couldn’t taste much of it in there…maybe an ‘essence’.

Overall rating:  Excellent!  (no surprise there)

Dr. Horowitz’ “Best Juice for Curing Many Illnesses”

3 carrots

2 celery stalks

1 turnip

2 beets

1/4 head of green cabbage

2 cups chopped kale

1 large clove of garlic

Whiz them through the juicer, and VOILA!  Well, it wasn’t that simple.  I’ve historically not been a fan of the turnip.  I juiced it separate and sampled.  Turnip juice is just as bad juiced as the root is whole.  Oh boy.  I finished juicing everything else together, and it was…pungent.  Oh boy.  I did decide, however, that the garlic-and-everything-else overwhelmed the turnip, so I added it to the mix.  Let’s say I’m not relishing in the fact of this juice sitting in my fridge waiting for lunch.  It’s going under the category of “drink your medicine”.  I’d say you could take out the garlic, but then you’d have the turnip.  Take that out, too and you’d have a pretty normal juice.  Hmm…does Turnip-Garlic juice make all that much difference?

Overall Rating:  Well, you win some, you lose some.

Leave a Reply

