Juice Fast Day 8: The Pros and the Calms

Today was interesting.  I woke up nice and early to take my eldest to a doctors appointment.  In the same complex is my surgeon.  A little background information:  Almost 7 years ago I underwent Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass.  I lost over 160 LBS, of which I’ve gained some back.

I thought since I was really taking my journey up again seriously, I ought to schedule an appointment with my Doc.  He’s amazing, and a real great support to me.  I also scheduled with the nutritionist.

I quickly mentioned my juice fast to the nurse in the office, and she was so excited for me.  She thought it was awesome that I had the fortitude to do it this long, and applauded my commitment.  She asked the big question that had been in my mind all week:  But, what about your protein?

As a Gastric Bypass patient, protein is the constant issue.  Because of the malabsorptive properties involved in my procedure, I am recommended to get between 80-120 grams per day.  As you can imagine on a juice fast the protein is very limited.  Beets, Cabbage and others are great sources, but in relatively small amounts.

She mentioned that I would be just fine for two weeks, but that I shouldn’t go three without supplementation.  Then, she said that thought it wasn’t totally necessary, she would prefer I start supplementing this week.  So, I did.

I began with a 20g serving of Unjury, a Whey Protein Isolate produce that has served me extremely well since surgery 7 years ago.  During the day, I also tested a sample she gave me of a Bariatric Advantage Meal Replacement (27g of protein).  Protein supplementation was always in my plan, just was going to start it on week three when I  was in Santa Cruz.

I noticed by the end of the evening I had the worst headache, and started feeling sluggish.  Yuck!  Although, I was pretty much expecting this, as was echoed by the nurse.

Other than that, I worked a TON on my project for school, and drank my juices like normal.

We’ll see how tomorrow goes.  I know one thing, it makes my wife and mother feel better that I’m supplementing, and I’m pretty sure it’s right.  It “thinks” right sofar.

Leave a Reply

