Zombie Running #3: A new week, a new pain, and a minor triumph

ImageAs I sit here typing, I’m beginning to get cold in my sweaty running gear.  My heart is still pounding, and the sweat is starting to dry into salty memories on my forehead.  It was a good run.

I started Week 3 of Zombies, Run! 5K tonight.  This is where the new week comes in.  The first two weeks have been great; and were slowly getting harder.  I knew I was in for trouble when the end of last week jumped up to almost double the running.  Well…my foreboding was correct.  Last week ended with a succession of 10 minutes walking to warm up followed by 5 sets of 30 seconds running and 1 minute walking.  Then, there was a 10 minute Free Run to run/walk as you feel fit.  It was great.  Tonight was 5 minutes walking warm up followed by 5 minutes Free Run, of which I ran all 5 minutes.  Then, we chatted a bit about camp supplies, etc.

Next, I was instructed to run 1 minute, walk 1 minute, then do 10 knee lifts.  I repeated this 5 times.  By the time this was ending, I was feeling great…and starting to get the end of the workout numb sensation.  Done?  Nope.  Here’s where the “new pain” comes in.  I was given 8 minutes more of Free Running, of which I could only muster 3 minutes.  I walked the rest.  Then 2 minutes to stretch out.  Done?  Nope.  Another 8 minutes free running.  I eeked out about 3 more minutes and was super-done.  I walked the rest of the 8 minutes which luckilly took me right to the car.  DONE!

ImageSadistically put, I feel freaking great!  Here’s the minor triumph part.  I usually run out my front door after work before dinner.  Tonight my wife had to work late.  It was well after dark, and I was actually in bed listening to an audiobook when she got home.  I donned my running gear, hopped in the car and drove over to a park that I knew would have lighting.  Did I mention it was raining and foggy in the Zombie-Filled Park?

I’m pretty much a badass now.  That’s right…I said it.

7 thoughts on “Zombie Running #3: A new week, a new pain, and a minor triumph

  1. Love it!!
    I think I bought the wrong app, though. I should have gotten the Zombies Run 5k app. I just got the “normal” one and it’s not quite what I wanted. Does this 5k one actually give you verbal queues on when to start/stop running/walking?
    BTW those pictures are freaking me out…lol

  2. Yes, absolutely. Stop what you’re doing right now and get the 5k app. Seriously. The full Zombies, Run! is geared for people who are already runners. The 5K version is an 8week program that takes you from the couch to successfully completing a 5k race. It’s the perfect intro to running. After that, jump into the full app. You haven’t wasted your money, just made an investment in the future.

  3. Great job!! My first day of week three had me walking the last 16 minutes. I feel like I may have to repeat week 3 again!! Looking forward to the next update.

  4. I just came in from Week 1, Run 3 of the 5k app…. It’s going great! I even have my husband doing it too! We were both running around the park tonight evading Zombs. I can’t thank you enough for introducing us to this app. It’s the first time I can ever remember the two of us actually looking forward to our next run! Thank you thank you! (P.S. I’m really looking forward to it getting a bit harder.)

Leave a Reply

