Zombie Running: We did it!

NLshirtI can’t believe it!  Just in time for my birthday, I finished my 5K training app.  I totally did it.  Thank you to everyone who encouraged me through the past 10 weeks as I literally lifted myself off the couch, donned the running garb, and slogged through the training regime.

Saturday morning was gorgeous in the park as I stretched my cold muscles on the grass by Sycamore Pool, a natural swimming hole in our municipal park.  After getting up the nerve to face one of my biggest fears, failure, I set out on the trail.

photo 1It really is true what they say about running, that it’s an exercise of the mind.  It took about 15 minutes of forcing myself along the trail to really get into it.  After that, it was an exercise of recommitting to the run, and refocussing on what was important: RUNNING!  But I did it.  I did it so well, in fact, that when the 5K mark was reached, I kept running because I felt so good.  I ended up going 3.64 miles in 55:55.  I’m no hare, that’s for sure, but I delivered the package to the airfield on time, and gave myself a very good present of completing 10 weeks of training successfully.

Next up?  I’ve already done the first run in the Zombies, Run! regular app.  It’s way good!  The zombie chases are freaky!  There’s a little beep that tells you that they’re getting closer and closer, which makes you run faster and faster!

aprilAlso, I’ve taken the step and become an independent distributor for Young Living Essential Oils.  I’ve used them to treat my kids through various illnesses, and myself in this health quest.  I greatly laud their effectiveness.  I’ll write up a whole blog post about what we’ve done with our pheumonia-ridden 2-year old.


How is your running going?  I don’t hear often from my readers, and my site stats say that people really are reading…so…speak up!  I’d love to hear from you.
3 thoughts on “Zombie Running: We did it!

  1. Thanks for reading! It’s always good to hear from my readers. Anyone else doing Zombie Running? I signed up for a zombie-themed 5k obstacle course in May called “Run for your Lives”. Anyone done it?

  2. I am doing zombies 5k – on week three run three. Great job to you getting through the training, I can’t wait. Run for your lives is also something I’m shooting for. I’ve recently discovered your blog and am enjoying the reading. I’ve had a terrible time with shin splints but am fighting through. Any advice, I’m trying not to get discouraged . -Shel

    • I’m so proud of you! Week three was really a time that I realized I’d committed! As for the pain? Of course, medical advice isn’t any part of my teaching training…but as a fellow runner remember to rest your body, and ice the injury. Those things usually work well.

Leave a Reply

