Salad made Easier! Dehydrated, and Jarred (but not jarring!)

I’ve been on my 28 day cleanse for the past almost three weeks. I’ve eaten salad after salad for lunch. In other words, I’m getting tired of making them!

On this cleanse, preparation has really been the key to success. Well, I found a way to make packing a salad WAY easier.

Last night, I popped 9 pounds of frozen veggies in my dehydrator (one pound per tray on my excalibur). 135 degrees Fahrenheit overnight, and I awoke to perfectly dried nibblets of corn, peas, green beans, broccoli slaw and edamame.

This morning, I tossed a handful in a quart mason jar, and added my dressing. I also out 1/4 c of water for rehydrating. I topped it off with mixed lettuce, and screwed the lid down. At lunch I had deliciously rehydrated, marinated vegetables, and a crispy salad that took only seconds to put together. IM SOLD!

For info on the method, check out this post on The Kitchn. Enjoy! I’ve been on my 28 day cleanse for the past almost three weeks. I’ve eaten salad after salad for lunch. In other words, I’m getting tired of making them!

On this cleanse, preparation has really been the key to success. Well, I found a way to make packing a salad WAY easier.

20140320-165550.jpg

Last night, I popped 9 pounds of frozen veggies in my dehydrator (one pound per tray on my excalibur). 135 degrees Fahrenheit overnight, and I awoke to perfectly dried nibblets of corn, peas, green beans, broccoli slaw and edamame.  They all dried down to almost 2 qt.

This morning, I tossed a handful in a quart mason jar, and added my dressing. I also out 1/4 c of water for rehydrating. I topped it off with mixed lettuce, and screwed the lid down. At lunch I had deliciously rehydrated, marinated vegetables, and a crispy salad that took only seconds to put together. IM SOLD!

For info on the method, check out this post on The Kitchn. Enjoy!

One thought on “Salad made Easier! Dehydrated, and Jarred (but not jarring!)

  1. Pingback: 28 Day Cleanse report in the middle (Arise and Shine weeks 2-3) | Fatty Gone Rogue

Leave a Reply

